Methodology
A sentence stays on the site only when a government page states it. The link is printed on the same page, as a numbered source. Award amounts, case captions, and dates come from those pages. If a figure is missing, the sentence is left out.
Preferred sources are justice.gov, sec.gov, cftc.gov, whistleblower.gov, irs.gov, fincen.gov, govinfo.gov for the U.S. Code, and america.gov/fraud for the reporting portal. Agency pages may be cited. The report buttons point only to America.gov/fraud and Justice Department pages.
Press releases are labeled. A settlement that says the claims are allegations is summarized that way. A charging document is not written up as a conviction. An award release that withholds the case name is not given one.
The Justice Department’s False Claims Act primer is cited for statutory procedure and relator shares. Its older dollar figures for per-claim penalties are not used, because the Civil Division’s current page says the penalty is linked to inflation and does not state a number.
This edition does not publish a 50-state false claims table. State award percentages were not checked against each current code. It also does not define “special services fraud,” because the Department’s pages list the phrase and do not define it. It does not describe the Criminal Division’s Corporate Whistleblower Awards Pilot Program beyond the one cross-reference in the October 20, 2026 release. It does not restate America.gov’s aggregate dollar scoreboard. It does not state a CFTC award-application deadline or an IRS processing day count that the reviewed pages did not quote.
FinCEN’s statute states a 10 to 30 percent band. FinCEN’s own page says awards will be processed after a regulation is final. Both sentences are on the FinCEN page of this site.
New items are added as JSON or MDX files under src/content. The build fails if a citation number does not match a source, or if a related page is missing. See CONTENT.md.